Thin Mints.

27 Jan

Ah Thin Mints, my favorite kind of girl scout cookies and what better way to support them than to buy a box of cookies for $5 and them only get about $.50, oh the joys of greed.(I’m not really one to talk…)

I served a mom and her little daughter, no older than 10 but no younger than 8. The little girl was wearing a girl scout uniform, it was adorable while her mom was wearing stripper heels, a very tight dress and that was ok to me since the mother was extremely attractive. They decided to take a break from their job of selling girl scout cookies and eat, it was chilly outside and why the hell should they suffer while everyone was pigging out and stuffing their face with raw fish. They aren’t the most knowledgeable of all things sushi so I explained to them the difference between nigiri and sashimi, the difference between the toro and maguro, of sake-toro and sake, all while retaining a relax and friendly composure. They told me that they love salmon and they would be happy with a California Roll and an order of Salmon sashimi so I told them jokingly that I’d let them order that in trade for my favorite kind of girl scout cookies, thin mints off-course and they just laughed and said sure.

I found myself laughing because I could literally devour a box of those in a matter of minutes and that doesn’t help with me wanting to work-out and stop gaining so much weight from the restaurant alone. I serve them their food and they asked for another round of California Roll, I put the order and as fast as a Big Mac comes out of McDonalds, a California Roll comes out almost as fast. The bill comes up and it’s as I expected, not high at all. This didn’t matter much to me as a child doesn’t even matter in headcount because of how little they consume so I present the bill, they put a couple of dollars in and I walk inside the kitchen. While holding two glasses of water for a different table, they are leaving and saying goodbye to me, I do the same.

I walk to the table to clean up and grab the ticket, and in the corner of my eye. I see a box of Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies! I was ecstatic, I wasn’t expecting this at all and for them to actually leave one definitely made my day.

These kind of people show me that, hard work pays off. The little girl was probably out selling cookies all day and was rewarded with California Rolls, to some people that might be nothing but to her it was what she had been wanting. I hope that all this hard work I’m doing will pay off in the long run, but just for the day. I think it already did, all thanks to that little girl.

The next time I see you in my restaurant, you bet that I’ll take good care of you. Free sushi, ice cream and whatever you want.

Sincerely,

Your waiter today.

Leave a comment